Bathurst Region - Live, Visit, Invest, Study

Hill End

Sitting above the Turon River Valley and surrounded by scenic bush is the quaint village of Hill End. The area first made its claim to fame through the 19th century gold rush, where is 1872 wealth from the gold fields saw the village boom into what was a thriving community. Now a place where visitors and locals alike can enjoy village lifestyle and wander through streets steeped in history.


History

Gold may have been discovered in Hill End as early as 1852. Between 1871 and 1874 the town experienced a boom that turned the small rural and mining community into one of the largest inland towns in NSW, with its population rising to 8000. The total recorded amount of gold mined during this period exceeded 62,200kg. The most famous find of that period was the Holtermann nugget discovered by Beyers and Holtermann in 1872. It was estimated that the gold content was 3000 ounces and the value was ₤10,000.
When the boom passed the village continued as a quieter but still active community. After the Second World War some of the country's leading artists, including Donald Friend and Russell Drysdale discovered the beauty of the region, an aspect of the countryside that still attracts artists today.

Present

In 1967 Hill End was proclaimed an Historic Site and placed under the management of the NSW National Parks and Wildlife Service, protecting a selection of buildings and artefacts within and around the village. Visitors to the site are still able to enjoy many of the original buildings that are now restored and have been adapted for other uses.

What to do & see

Explore an underground mine, pan for gold, visit the museum at the Hill End Visitor's Centre and History Hill or wander through the village inspecting the old buildings and historic photos positioned around the streets.

Relax and enjoy a meal or a drink in the courtyard of the historic Royal Hotel, the sole surviving pub from the gold rush era. Pitch a tent at one of the campgrounds, follow one of the walking trails through magnificent scenery or take a stroll through the cemetery.
Hill End Open Days (April and October) are a geat time to visit when several of the historic buildings are open to the public.

Scenic Dune Buggies Hill End: Guided scenic dune buggy tour through 3000 acres of picturesque private country. Have fun doing hill climbs, creek crossings and travel along historic timber getters trails. Visit an old Chinese gold diggings campsite. For further deals look at 'See and Do'.

Facilities/Services

General store, fuel, take away food, hotel, post office, public phone, police station, gallery, mining museum, churches, NPWS Visitors' Centre, picnic grounds, public toilets. Accommodation includes B&B, hotel, self contained cottages and camping areas with amenities.

Featuring a wide variety of early Australian and Goldfield historical artefacts most of which originate from 1851 until 1900. On display are Chinese, firearms, gold scales, minerals, 175 metres of underground mine and much more. Also on display is the rare tip of the World's largest known piece of gold - The Beyer's and Holtermann specimen.

Hill End Village Map

Hill End has a National Parks and Wildlife Service Visitor Centre and they are a great source of further information on Hill End and the road conditions of the Bridle Track. Phone 6337 8206

For more information on Hill End visit the National Parks & Wildlife Service website or the Hill End & Tambora Progress Association.